Partial Gelled Soap Irritating to skin?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CountrySoaper

Reaction score
Hey everyone!

So I have been making soap for years but I am still learning. My recipe that I created is awesome and Ive been using it for a few years. Lye calculator checks out at 5% superfat

My problem is partial gel in my soaps. Those pieces that have a partial gel are without a doubt harsher on the skin. To be honest not all parts of the skin but spicy when washing the bum lol. I am wondering why? I have researched gelled soap vs non gelled soap and it seems like its only an aesthetic issue.

Why are the bars with non gelled parts that are opaque on the outside of the mold harsh but the middle gelled bars are luxurious and perfect?

I cure for 8 weeks and the bar I used that was partial gelled in my scrap pile was made last October so cured for 7 months

How soon are you using your soap?
I cure for 8 weeks and the bar I used that was partial gelled in my scrap pile was made last October so cured for 7 months

At 8 weeks, it shouldn't make any difference at all so maybe it is psychosomatic or a difference in your FO or process.

Gelling is an indication of how warm a cold process soap becomes during saponification. The parts of the soap that do gel have gotten warmer than the parts that didn't gel.

Soap saponifies faster when it's warmer, which is why the typical cold process soap takes a day or three to completely saponify while a typical hot process soap needs only a few hours to fully saponify.

If you encourage a CP soap to gel, it saponifies faster, more like an HP soap. If you keep a CP soap cool so it doesn't gel, as some people do, the soap will take longer to fully saponfiy. The likelihood of a newly-made soap being harsh to the skin is highest for a CP soap that has not gotten warm enough to completely gel.