Palm Oil Substitute and SoapCalc

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SoapyGoats

Reaction score
What is a GOOD oil substitute for Palm Oil?

Also, on the graph on Soap Calc, do you want all the bars (bubbly, etc. and the acids) to be all about level? And do you want to have every acid on the graph?

PLEASE, do not say, " what are you doing selling, and asking beginner questions!" to what I've just posted.

I am still learning, just like anyone else.

I switch between Palm & Lard- I like them both.
I shoot for all the soap qualities to be in the middle ground.
As for the acids; Ricinoleic will not be present unless you add castor oil to your recipe and the rest of the acids numbers are kind of all over the place and I am not sure if there is a recommended range.

We have all been where you are. Everyone here is very helpful and you can find a lot of answers by doing a forum search (which is how I answer most of my personal soap making questions).

In my very basic research palm kernel and coconut oil are the two more common oils that add a cleansing property to the soap. I noted three others as well as straight myristic or lauric acid that add a large cleansing property. Lard appears to help hardness and conditioning with very little addition of a cleansing property.
As for numbers I am still using the suggested ranges for the properties. As I do more research I may venture outside of the ranges if it seems necessary

(edit: corrected palm oil to palm kernel oil)

Last edited:
I am extremely new to soaping, but thought I'd throw in my 2 cents as well. I had read that back in the 70s they came up with a 'perfect soap' system. I guess they gave all the oils number values (you see them on soap calc) and the perfect combination with give you the perfect score…which I read was 165. The closer to that score you are, the better your soap.