Pacific Northwest

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TheGecko

Reaction score
Realized this morning that I hadn’t properly introduced myself.

I’m The Gecko; all-knowing all-seeing...or dumber than a box a rocks and blind as a bat depending on the day of the week. :)

I’m on the dark side of 50 with only a hop and skip left to 60 (I don’t jump anymore...or run, unless there is chocolate, preferably dark with some caramel). Married, hubby and I have five children between us, two grandchildren and a third on the way, and two cats that hired us last year (we have yet to receive a paycheck from them). Hubby is retired due to disability and I work full-time as an accountant.

Okay...the soap thing. I took a soap making class several years with the intent to make goat milk soap. I had been buying it for years from this one gal, but then she retired and the gal who took her place only makes five soaps (she really likes oatmeal) and that’s it. But then hubby became disabled and money was tight for several years, so I set the thought aside.

Then at the beginning of this year, I ran across a YouTube video on someone making soap and I started neglecting my knitting. I sat in the evening watching video after video after video and taking notes...saponification, super fat, hard oils, ITP, Lauric acid, and so on and so forth. And I started collecting recipes, but the majority of them didn’t make sense until I found a tutorial on SoapCalc. Then I started entering the recipes and making notes on the differences between the ingredients and amounts thereof and how they related to each other. I looked at the various processes of soap making and even the history of soap making.