Option paralysis!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

La Bamba

Reaction score
Is it just me?
I have so many ideas about which soaps to make that I just keep looking at my recipes and don’t know where to start!
I don’t want to use palm oil, or tallow, and so many of the recipes I like the idea of have these in them. I’m not experienced enough to go off piste just yet!
Will soapcalc help me to sub these for vegan type oils/butters?
Thanks, as always, for any help given.

There are several soapers here (myself included) who don't use palm oil or tallow. Some of us substitute with butters and others use soy wax. I briefly tried rapeseed wax but found it not to my liking. I think I was using it a too high of a percentage and might give it another go at a lower rate. You can search 'palm free vegan' and get several hits from this site. If you wanted, and have the patience, you could start with a simple Castile or Marseille soap, but keep in mind the cure time is extra long (up to a year). The best advice I can give is for you to make small batches of the recipes that sound the most feasible.

I don't use SoapCal, so I don't know how much help it is. You can also check soapmakingfriend.com and they give a lot of qualities for each oil/butter/wax. I experimented for months before I found a recipe that I liked. Good luck!