Once again I feel I know nothing

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

seaysoap

Reaction score
I have been making soap for a couple of years now and have been feeling pretty cocky. Now that I am spending more time "learning" about soap making I realize my knowledge is in the shallow end of the pool.

For my question: Where does everyone get these hardness, lathering, conditioning etc.... numbers?? Thanks for all of the help you all give.

Hi Michael, and welcome to the nut house.

But i was the same way, felt i was making a really good bar of soap until i got my hot little hands on that soapcal website. Now I use it for so many things, not just soaping because of the % number option.

anywho, http://www.soapcalc.com/calc/soapcalcWP.asp

I wrote this up for another purpose but i'm posting it here.

Soap Cal is a unique lye calculator and for making CP soap with lye it's the only one I use. (However for making liquid soap with KOH i find another that is better.)

http://www.soapcalc.com/calc/soapcalcWP.asp
I like this one unless your using more oils then you will want to click the soapcal 18 at the top of the page. But for most, this one works great.

When you first open the page you want to look at the top in the middle where it says "total oil weight". And convert your recipe into the weight you prefer to use. I personally use ounces, however when I go to weigh all my oils out I use grams because it's more accurate.

I personally don't adjust the water amount but you can adjust the superfat amount as on the right side of the page. 5% superfat is the most common so i tend to leave it right there for most bar soaps. (I do alter it for specific purposes.)

Now if you look on the left side of the page you see soap qualities. And a space for the individual and the combined amounts.