ok, what exactly is RTCP

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CupcakeKisses

Reaction score
I get that it is room temp cold process, but how is it different? do you cool it down more? or not heat at all?

I'm a newbie to soapmaking, have about 12 batches under my belt. I tried Paul's RTCP method for the first time yesterday, and like it and the way the soap came out.

Here's a link to Paul's tutorial on RTCP.

http://www.soapmakingforum.com/forum/vi ... php?t=3165

I think, just from reading on forums, that apparently there's another RTCP method where you use your hot(?) lye solution to melt your fats. But I am not familiar with that method at all.

Room temp means you allow the heat from the just mixed lye solution to melt the oils and butters. I do it with every single batch and love love love it. I don't always do the cold process portion of the rtcp sometimes I put my soap in the oven. Room Temp soaping is awesome.

I have formulated a different version of RTCP. :) There are many posts you can look up here, one I detailed my process step-by-step, the link Godiva quoted. I master-batch my recipe and leave at room temperature. I mix up a 50% lye solution, also keep it at room temperature. I make soap with all ingredients, even goat milk, at room temperature. Paul's version of RTCP as many here have grown to like it. :wink: I have been doing it this way for over a year now.

Paul

CupcakeKisses said:
I get that it is room temp cold process, but how is it different? do you cool it down more? or not heat at all?

Like I said, I'm a newbie - this is my understanding of CP vs RTCP.