Oils and Fragrance

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mlroun

Reaction score
I’ve been making soap for about 3 months now. I only use Essential Oils to scent. Some of my soaps are losing the scent within weeks.
I have made two batches with the same Lavender EO, in both I used 1 Tab. per lb.
The first was my screw up soap that I had to re batch. It was made on 5/10 and has a nice Lavender smell.
The newest one was made 6/8 and already has less of a scent then the 5/10 batch. The recipes are different and the second one has Palm Oil.
Does the type of oil effect fragrance or do I need to increase my amount of EO’s?

Does the type of oil effect fragrance or do I need to increase my amount of EO’s?
Most EO's will fade in soap. Just the nature of it. Make sure if you are going to increase you stay within the safe limits as outlined by the IFRA.
The type of oil used in the soap recipe won't matter, but the quality of EO's will. Even though, higher quality EO's are still prone to fade.

I wanted to 'only' use EOs too, until I discovered how quickly they fade, and how expensive they are to use in the quantities required for soap. So now I combine EOs with FOs - so that I still have some 'natural' in there, but I get the longevity of fragrance from the FO.
Also look into combining scents - some need to have an 'anchor' to help with longevity. You may not smell the anchor, but it helps the main scent to retain its smell. Google 'anchoring' with 'fragrance'.
Some people use rice flour etc to help anchor scents with some success.

Is there a difference in the amount of eo you used in both batches (in % of oils)? Because that could definitely explain why one faded faster than the other. Here's a really good calculator you can use to figure out how much eo you can use while still being safe: https://www.eocalc.com/