Not getting to “transparent gel” stage

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I usually make CP soap and this is my first try making liquid KOH soap. I have a 30% coconut/70% olive oil batch that has been cooking for a full day now and it just won’t get to the transparent gel stage. It’s stuck in the puffy half-gel-half-foamy-blob stage. Any suggestions? I’m thinking the KOH I used isn’t really 100%, but 90% pure.

Thank you!!!

Welcome, MaggieB! :)

To help us be able to troubleshoot better, can you also give us your water and KOH amounts? Without the full recipe, we'd only be shooting in the dark. Thanks!

IrishLass :)

Hello,
Attached is my recipe. Thanks!
~MaggieB

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    61.6 KB · Views: 131
The lye concentration you started with is 37%. That's very low amount of water for liquid soap paste, and it is physically impossible for the paste to go into that vaseline gel stage you're looking for with so very little water. Water evaporation in the hours you've cooked this paste has reduced the water content even further.

Next time, don't use that "water as % of oils" setting. Use 25% lye concentration OR 3:1 water:lye ratio. You'll get better results. Also see Irish Lass and Susie's tutorials on no-cook liquid soap making. Their methods will save you a lot of time, hassle, and frustration.

Irish Lass: http://www.soapmakingforum.com/showthread.php?p=428988 see posts 8 and 9
and: http://www.soapmakingforum.com/showthread.php?t=57974
Susie: http://www.soapmakingforum.com/showthread.php?t=49852
Another good resource: https://milesawayfarm.wordpress.com/...here-to-start/

Ditto what DeeAnna said.