No Paste, HP LS Method - Neutralization Needed?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BrianBee

Reaction score
Longtime forum lurker, first time poster. I've read and read and I don't think I've seen this answered specifically before. About me: former chemistry major, current pharmacist, and I've been making bar soap for about 2 years, and liquid soap for one year. For liquid soap, I've tried Thompson's Hot Process No Paste method (in a crockpot) as well as the Cold Process LS method that's well-described from this forum. I prefer the HP No Paste method simply because I don't have to dilute the paste afterwards; every time I've done that it's taken what seems an excessive time investment.

Using the No Paste method, every time I've neutralized with citric acid, I see a bit of separation; usually in the form of a slightly oily, white layer sitting on the top of the remainder of the clear soap, persisting from a 40% concentration through dilution down to a 20% concentration. This then requires scooping off, allowing to sit for another half-day, and repeating until the layer is no longer present.

So -- here's the question I've got. Is neutralization with citric acid even required, provided that materials are stored correctly and in good condition, calculations are done correctly, measurements are accurate, and a margin of error with a slight superfat is kept? From my chemistry background this doesn't make sense. From a common sense look at my soapmaking background, it doesn't make sense either -- or else the Cold Process LS method would require neutralization too...

Happy to post my recipe if it's felt that it's needed.

Thank you in advance!