No Immersion Blender

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Krysam

Reaction score
I am new to soap making whislt making my first batch of soap my immersion blender stopped working. I decided to use my electric whisk, however the soap seems to not reach trace. Advice needed.

I am new to soap making whislt making my first batch of soap my immersion blender stopped working. I decided to use my electric whisk, however the soap seems to not reach trace. Advice needed.
Tell us your specific recipe. Some recipes will trace very quickly without the use of a stick blender at all, while others will take hours of hand-stirring with a spoon or a stick to thicken at all. So recipe is important if you want us to give specific advice.

Generally, though, some things that can speed up trace when only hand-stirring:

Heat - warm you oils. Hot process will bring it to trace sooner. Do some research on how to hot process, if you want to try that route.

Use more hard oils in your recipe. Again, knowing your recipe would certainly give us something to go on.

Use additives that create heat to speed up trace. Sugary or alcohol containing liquids will heat up the batter as it interacts with the lye, thus speeding up trace. Again, do some research about working with things like beer in soap or honey in soap, etc. It may be too late for that with this particular recipe, however, because you would only be diluting an already dilute solution and you probably would not gain much from that.

Use a Fragrance Oil or Essential Oil that heats up the batter and therefore speeds up trace. If you have any & have done the research and base the decision on reviews of said FO or EO that indicate it speeds trace.