Newby needs information

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

4Paws

Reaction score
Hi there,
I am new to soap making and to the forum.
I am there is an area or section etc that has the answers to my questions but I can't seem to find them so I would appreciate the help or if someone could direct me to the appropriate post.

I am looking for a basic recipe (basic because this would be my first time making soap), looking to make everyday soap that I can add my own fragrance or essential oils to.
Nothing fancy. Looking to make it with cold process method.

Thank you for your help

What kind of skin do you have and how much soap do you want to make? You do need to learn how to use soapcalc.net but its confusing at first and not understanding what the numbers mean, it can be difficult to formulate a recipe.
Also, do you have palm or lard? or can you get the one you prefer? I can help with a recipe but unless you object, I will have lard in it.

Thank you all so much for the information.
I currently do not have anything so I will be going to pick it up and I am going to use lard .. easier for me to find here.

I am going to play around with the calculator prior to starting to get the hang of it and check out the videos.

Thank you