Newbie w/question re: pet spritz & bakery scents? Help!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ElisabethA

Reaction score
Hi All!

I am SO glad to have found this board!!! I'm brand new to this FO stuff, but my "regular" business is making baby carriers, and there is a really active and super-helpful forum website for that industry. I was really hoping there was an equivalent for fragrance folks - and there is! Woot!

I hope I'm posting in the right place for my question. What I'm making (or trying to make) is pet spritzes. I am launching a new website of dog accessories, and I have a whole page of spritzes all ready to go, except some of them are smelling funky now! (Luckily I started small to test and haven't made big batches of anything yet.) I haven't gone through and re-tested all 12 scents yet, but the problem seems to be with the bakery/candy scents. I have a "buttercream cupcake" and a "cotton candy". They smell fine in the bottle, but when I spray them on *anything*, my dog, myself, linens, anything - the smell seems to turn quickly as it dries into a really funky, unpleasant, kind of musty smell. The non-bakery scents seem to be okay - stuff like cucumber melon, coconut lime, etc.