Newbie here!!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KigerKat

Reaction score
Hello, everyone!

I've had a lot of friends recently tell me that they love handmade soaps and are always looking for places that sell them. I thought I would give this a try as gifts at first and then maybe try to sell some for a profit.

There's a ton of websites about soapmaking, but I can't seem to find where to start. I purchased a couple of books on Amazon (still waiting on shipping) and I've bought a couple of basic things at my local Hobby Lobby (glycerin soap, a couple of fragrances, a basic mold and a couple of dyes). I figure melt and pour would be a good way to get started.

Any ideas of what else I might need or any suggestions for some good websites for reference?

Thanks, guys! I look forward to getting to know all of you!

Hello and welcome! :)

I would start by reading here in the CP and the Melt and Pour Forum. Also search the tutorials, take notes, and compare them with the advice in your soaping books.

Another great place to look is http://www.teachsoap.com . Anne Marie has a lot of wonderful tutorials, recipes, and even an "Ask Anne Marie" column for questions.

David Fisher's site is also a great sourc of info. The url there is http://candleandsoap.about.com . He has some great step by step tutorials with photos and always has some creative candle and soap project.

Basically, start by reading some, asking questions, reading more, asking more questions, and doing along the way. And most of all, have FUN! You're a long way off from giving away or selling soaps, so enjoy the journey. :)

Hi , Welcome to the forum , it is great to have you here with us .Mike has given you excellent advice and there are lots of helpful people here to answer any questions you might have .

Kitn