newbie - help plss

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vidasworld12

Reaction score
Hi guys,

Im new at the soap making world, and extremely nervous, mainly cause I dont want to mess up so bad that I would have to throw away a batch. Ive watched soap queen,other youtube soapers, read lots of websites, started out my soap diary, have researched quite abit, BUT we all know theres always something more to learn. I think I have everything I need, Im in canada so the oils and materials are way more expensive here than in the states. If I was to order online the shipping costs would be the pain. Im trying out my very first recipe of soap queen ( im very open to trying out a simpler/ cheaper recipe IF anyone would like to share )I have coconut oil, olive oil, I found my lye at the home hardware store ( which was AWESOME ) cause its expensive online! have vanilla EO.. have most of the equipment already BUT I could only find red palm oil ?? Is this the same as the white palm oil im always seeing? I honestly cant find that white one anywhere in town. I also dont have a mold BUT I did find a perfect sized cardboard box ( had business card in it ) , could I use this as a mold if I was to line it with a huge freezer/ zip lock bag?? all the molds I can get a hold of are about $30 ( silicon online after shipping ) ive found a few at the thrift store but they are huge and rusty looking- I read you cant use aluminum or non stick ones ( cause they will react ),could I line these with something maybe, so I can use them?? so all I can find are the metal ones , the one I do happen to have at home is big, and I believe that the recipe im doing is not that big ( by the way does anyone know how much soap in lbs - that soap queen recipe makes?? I couldnt find the answer to this ) sooo can I use the box I have if I line it with a bag??? my kids keep asking me when im gona make t