Newbie - Crumbly ammonia smelling Milk soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi everyone

I have just joined the forum and happy to have found it!
I live of grid so sometimes have problems getting online though ;)

I am very new at soap making on my 4th batch, im loving it!
I recently made a goats milk soap i was so excited i used the goats milk from my first hand milking :) , the ice cube way and put it in the fridge overnight. It came out a darker colour than I wanted although I like the colour. I cut it after 24 hrs it came out nice.
On tuesday 11th I made cows milk soap with honey in the bottom layer. I made it the same way except i put it in the freezer for 24 hrs then in the fridge for 17 hrs. The colour is what I want, but I just cut it and it smells like ammonia. I cut the loaf in half, one side looked smooth the other all weird and crumbly with small bubbly kind of texture. When I cut a bar from the one that was smooth looking its half smooth and half weird. I have attached photos. Please help, did I cut to soon? did the lye work? I am always afraid it does not saponify!

Would appreciate your thoughts :)
Thank Karina

IMG_20180913_111125.jpg
IMG_20180913_111132.jpg
IMG_20180913_114229.jpg

It totally normal when using milk to get the ammonia smell. It will cure out with time. I'm also thinking it may be lye heavy. Zap test it to be sure. Zap testing will tell you if there is excess lye.

Yes. Like if you licked a battery. It doesn’t taste good for obvious reasons lol but if it’s not lye heavy you won’t feel an unmistakeable zap

Yes it does have a tingle and a funny taste. I used a different calculator this time it had about 4 grams more lye than the other. Not sure if this would make a difference. Its strange considering raw cows milk has additional fat in it not taken into account with the oil weights. Thanks for the help