newbie confusion about feasibility of 100% olive oil soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kaybee

Reaction score
hi--

Just getting started :) Oil availability (and/or affordability) of anything other than olive seems to be a problem both here in Italy (where I am studying) and also in Ireland where I normally live. Olive oil is (obviously ;) ) available and affordable here, but I have not been able to find coconut, palm etc anywhere. likewise in Ireland, olive oil is available and affordable, but otherwise only coconut is available and only from the health food shop and its prohibitively expensive. Mail-ordering coconut, palm, etc also is prohibitively expensive for me here. sunflower, canola, corn etc are cheap and available but im not really interested in using them as I've read (on this board) that they have a tendency to go rancid more quickly. I'm not interested in using lard or other animal fats/products (vegan). So, this leaves me pretty much with olive oil--though i may be able to get castor oil from a pharmacy, havent checked this yet.

Now, I know that castille is 100% olive oil and Ive learned from this site that it requires a longer curing time--like preferably up to 6 months or even a year--to be at its best. but I've also read in various places that soaps sometimes only have a "shelf life" of 6 months before they go rancid etc...so im confused about the actual life of a bar of castillle....if it has to cure for 6 months...does it go rancid by the time its cured...? i know this cant be the case but im just confused!

also, reading over the boards, it seems like people have more problems with castilles than others (?)