Newbe here, suggestions welcome.

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tmas73

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm new here.

I want to make a soap with following ingredients.

Coconut Oil
Macadamia Nut Oil
Palm Oil
Castor Oil
Safflower Oil
Vegetable Glycerin

Does anyone know how much of each to use in a batch of 1300g?

Thanks!

Hi There!

I ran your oils through SoapCalc, an online soap calculator:

http://www.soapcalc.com/calc/soapcalc.asp

I've never used Macadamia Nut Oil before, but it doesn't look too far different from Olive Oil in terms of their fatty acid profiles. Based on that fact, and also based on how I like to formulate most of my soaps with Olive Oil, I came up with this:

Macadamia Nut (50%)....... 650 grams
Coconut Oil (30%).............390 grams
Castor Oil (10%)................130 grams
Safflower Oil (10)................130 grams

Water (full water amount, no discounts)...... 494 grams
Lye (at 5% superfat)..................................186.5 grams

Regarding the glycerin--- I didn't calculate it in because you don't need to soap with glycerin. Glycerin, you see, is actually a naturally occurring byproduct of the soapmaking process itself. There's roughly, on average, 10% (sometimes more, sometimes less) of naturally occuring glycerin in every batch of handmade 'from scratch' soap which is created during the saponification process.

Will this be your first batch? If so, this soap will probably be soft at first, but it will harden up nicely during cure. Let it sit in the mold for about 48 hours before cutting, and then set it on a rack to cure for at least 4 weeks.