New to Soapmaking -- Please Advise!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

akibo74

Reaction score
Hey everyone!

I'm brand new to soap making, and I'm excited to learn about the process! My soap-making goal is to create a soap for myself that accommodates my countless allergies and inflammatory reactions to mainstream soap ingredients. In order to do this methodically and effectively, I was thinking of starting with a very basic liquid solution of water and glycerin (not sure what a good ratio would be?), and then to add a single ingredient, try it out, and see how I react. Obviously if I get a bad reaction, then I won't pursue that ingredient, but I think this trial and error will give me a sense of what ingredients I can work with.

I'm comfortable with this idea, but I'm not confident in its execution. I don't know anything about chemistry, liquid/solid measurements, where to get single ingredients, the legality of owning chemicals, dangers, etc. I would love some help/advice on how to move forward. I have purchased 100% vegetable-based glycerin, and obviously have access to water, so I think my first step would be to create a water-glycerin base. Looking forward to everyone's input!

Thanks,
Isaac

Hi Isaac,

Do you mean for liquid soap? It is not usual to use glycerin in bar soap (esp. as a beginner). Have a look around the forum to find ideas for liquid soap, bar soap etc.

Do you know of any specific allergies you have already? Like to coconut oil/nut oils/olive oil etc? That would be a good start.