New to soap making

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sam

Reaction score
Hello Everyone! I am new to soap making and I would like to know more about a recipe that I've seen done, but I don't understand why is was done that way.

The recipe is the following:

Lye / Water were mixed before and cooled. The Lye was 25L and the water is 19L

8L of oils
- Olive pomace oil 33.33%
- Coconut oil 33.33%
- Palm oil 33.33%
- Lye / Water 1500ml

What is the benefit of having more or less Lye / Water in soap making? Also why 1500ml of Lye / Water? What is super fat and is it required? If I need to change the recipe to 1L instead of 8L what would be the Lye / Water amount?

Your help would be much appropriated.

Thanks,
Sam

Lye has to be dissolved in equal amount of liquid. So if 25L lye and 19L water is correct, there isn't enough water to dissolve the lye. There will be undissolved lye in the soap. The other concern is that recipes should be measured by weight not volume - I'm interpreting L as Liter. Measuring by volume leaves room for error.

The best thing to do would be to enter this recipe into a soap calculator (soapcalc.net is a good one). You can enter the oils by percents to get the weight amount in your recipe.

Lye has to be dissolved in equal amount of liquid. So if 25L lye and 19L water is correct, there isn't enough water to dissolve the lye. There will be undissolved lye in the soap. The other concern is that recipes should be measured by weight not volume - I'm interpreting L as Liter. Measuring by volume leaves room for error.

The best thing to do would be to enter this recipe into a soap calculator (soapcalc.net is a good one). You can enter the oils by percents to get the weight amount in your recipe.

The thing that I still don't understand is the water as % of oils and super fat %? What % should I be using for both?

Hi Sam & Welcome