New to soap making - reqiesting help on essential oils

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

apaul

Reaction score
Hi All,
I am very new to CP soap making. I am trying to make my first soap in the coming week. The only knowledge I have is watching youtube videos and reading forms.

My plan is to make a 33/33/33% Olive/Palm/Coconut blend with some essential oils.

So of the form posting I read states do not use cinnamon/clove oils etc.. due to skin irritation.

Is there any place I could read about these essential oils and its side effects?

Thanks,
APaul

Hey apaul I googled it for you and got this link--> http://www.organicfacts.net/organic-oils/natural-essential-oils/list-of-essential-oils.html

As far as side effects go, there can be many factors involved, But if you just looking at witch one will sensitize the skin here is a link and some info i pulled off someones ebay page. --> http://www.essentialoils.co.za/irritation.htm#Essential oils that may cause skin irritation

Never, Never, NEVER Use These Essential Oils
Unless under the supervision of a certified and registered Aromatherapist, do not even be tempted to smell these oils!

Ajowan
Trachyspermum copticum - dermal (skin) irritant, possibly irritating to mucous membranes (ex. the membranes inside your nose), and must not be used during pregnancy

Almond, Bitter
Prunus dulcis - contains prussic acid, also known as hydrocyanic acid or cyanide, is a well-known poison; also contains the moderately toxic benzaldehyde

Allspice, Leaf and Berry
Pimenta dioica - dermal (skin) irritant; and, due to the eugenol content, very irritating to mucous membranes (ex. the
membranes inside your nose)

Anise, Star