New to here/new to soap!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Booker

Reaction score
Hello everyone! I'm so glad to have found this forum. I'm am very new to soap. I've only done melt and pour--which I had a total blast with! I made a cute little ocean scene type bar. I am very much interested in moving on to CP someday. It's not feasible now because I don't really have a "safe to soap" room. I have read (and re-read) two soap making books, and wish to continue lurking and reading more here. I'm a very thorough researcher and don't just jump into things before I'm ready. Thank you for allowing me to read the many threads here and being able to partake and ask questions!

Welcome welcome! I did melt and pour for forever but then got addicted to cold process soap. You can still turn back. :) I don't know how your home is set up but for a couple years I made do with the world's tiniest galley kitchen and storing all my supplies in the basement. Keep us posted.

Hello :) I soap in my very tiny kitchen. I mix my lye water in a container right in the sink, with a small fan blowing across left to right so the fumes don't even get to me, and do all of my mixing and pouring on a large piece of butcher paper (with the waxed side facing up) on the counter next to the sink. I do not use much space at all, and have never had a problem with safety.

I am not sure what your situation is, but with some planning and preparation, I am sure you can CP at home, too! Good luck and welcome!

I am very much interested in moving on to CP someday. It's not feasible now because I don't really have a "safe to soap" room. I have read (and re-read) two soap making books, and wish to continue lurking and reading more here. I'm a very thorough researcher and don't just jump into things before I'm ready.

Welcome!