New Soapmaker- Terrified of Lye

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kota

Reaction score
Hi everyone!

So I’m new to soap making, I’ve done some research but I’ve convinced myself that I don’t know enough. I have a few questions about lye because I feel crazy and feel like everything in my house is now contaminated with lye and I’m a walking lye contaminator! I even freaked out after having touched the plastic wrap covering the raw so after molding then getting a bug out of my eye. I legit almost went to the emergency room! My poor boyfriend was trying to calm me down but I was so paranoid. (I also have OCD so this is clearly the worst hobby I could have possibly chosen). But I love the process and love everything about it thus far! I just need to know everything there is!

So! For questions:
Would I know if I got Lye on myself?
Am I able to cross contaminate if I had Lye on myself?
What vinegar do I use for cleaning?
How long is lye well, “LYE” for?
Basically, I want to know everything there is for Lye and touching and safety!

This probably won’t be my last post! Haha thank you all!

Hi there,
you would most likely know if you got lye on yourself. Typically your sweat would "activate" the lye and you would feel a little burning sensation on your bare skin. I hate to admit, I'm not super careful like I was when I first started soaping. I get a bit of lye on my hands and arms once in a while and I just run them under cold water. I don't even wear safety googles or gloves anymore but I think I'll hit the hardware store and get back to being safer. I think cross contaminating is possible but as long as you are careful when dealing with the lye and making sure to clean up afterwards then there is very little risk. I worry about my dog so I make sure not to get any lye on the floor for her to step on or lick.