Nervous about scents...

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lexi

Reaction score
Alright, so its time I start making SCENTED soap. LOL! I have a bunch of batches under my belt but have yet to actually use EO, FO or extract. How much should I use ppo? I have honestly not had a problem with seizing or super quick trace yet so I am wondering how I can tackle those problems. Also how do I know which FO's are cp soap safe...meaning that they wont just dissipate? Lastly, any tips for me? Any help would be GREATLY appreciated!

It seems like most people use between .5 and .8 oz FO ppo. As for seizing/acceleration, that's trial and error.

I'm a soapy newbie so that's about all I'm sure about for now!

Hi Lexie!

Like kwahlne said, between .5 oz. and .8 oz. F/O ppo is pretty much standard. I use .7 oz. ppo for most fragrances myself. If the F/O is really weak or faint, I'll go as high as 1 oz ppo and no more than that, but that's very rare.

A really good site to check out before buying any F/Os or E/Os is this site:

http://soapscentreview.obisoap.ca/

It's the best place to go to read reviews of fragrance vendors, F/Os or E/Os, and how the scents perform in soaps and other bath & body applications. I always read over there first before I decide to make a F/O purchase anywhere. It's not an exhaustive or complete list that they have, mind you, but it's huge nevertheless, and it's the biggest and best one out there that I know of.

Most, if not all, reputable fragrance vendors mention which fragrances are soap and body safe and which ones are not. Some even mention whether they seize or not in their scent descriptions. Daystar and Scent Works are known to do that (two of my favorite fragrance vendors). HTH! :)

IrishLass