Neem oil in a pine tar recipe?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Yooper

Reaction score
My daughter has dry skin, psoriasis and ezcema (poor girl). I am going to make a pine tar soap, basically like this (what I"m thinking so far):
1649700461576.png

As I think of this, I wonder about Neem oil, which I've never worked with before. Is that a bad idea, or would that be a good addition to a pine tar soap?

I made a batch of pine tar soap for a few friends at the senior residence where my mother lives. It did not soothe their eczema. When I was young, a neighbor gently rubbed rock salt into my mother's hands to cure her psoriasis. It did!

I've often wondered if a salt bar would work. :smallshrug:

In any case, I would try straight pine tar on your daughter before making the soap, just as it is used to treat horses, to make sure she doesn't have an allergic reaction to it. As for the rest of your ingredients, I assume she washes with that formula on a regular basis (without the PT) and has no negative reaction? 🤔

I made a batch of pine tar soap for a few friends at the senior residence where my mother lives. It did not soothe their eczema. When I was young, a neighbor gently rubbed rock salt into my mother's hands to cure her psoriasis. It did!

I've often wondered if a salt bar would work. :smallshrug:

In any case, I would try straight pine tar on your daughter before making the soap, just as it is used to treat horses, to make sure she doesn't have an allergic reaction to it. As for the rest of your ingredients, I assume she washes with that formula on a regular basis (without the PT) and has no negative reaction? 🤔