Need Suggestion for Increasing Lather

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm a novice and over six months have made two batches of the same soap. Input now from a family member is that there's not enough lather. Here's the recipe I use:
950 g olive oil
50 g coconut oil
200 g water
133 g sodium hydroxide

For both makes, it took a long time to reach trace, and then a long time to harden before cutting. But once cured (4 or more weeks), it was fine, until the comment about the lather! I agree there's not much lather but it didn't really bother me.

I'd love a suggestion for an easy way to increase lather. Thank you.

With only 5% coconut oil, you will not have much lather. Try using at least 20% coconut oil and 5% Castor oil, 20% palm oil, and 55% olive oil. If you don't want to use palm, you can substitute lard or tallow for the palm. Just make sure to run the recipe through the lye calculator.

Translated to percentages, this is 95% OO and 5% CO. For very high % OO soaps you have to wait a lot to get any bubbles (and even then not much). CO helps with bubbles a lot, you can use anywhere between 15% and 25% for a not overly drying bar.

Translated to percentages, this is 95% OO and 5% CO. For very high % OO soaps you have to wait a lot to get any bubbles (and even then not much). CO helps with bubbles a lot, you can use anywhere between 15% and 25% for a not overly drying bar.
When you say "wait a lot to get any bubbles", do you mean keep lathering under water until bubbles appear? Anyway, I like your idea of just increasing the % of CO. I think I would start with 15% to test it. Thank you!