Need some help troubleshooting soap batch gone wrong

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

happymom

Reaction score
Hi everyone! I have been making soap for about two years, just for friends and family so only every other month or so. I have made a two batches of CP Goat's Milk soap and it is my favorite.

So I just made my first really unusable batch - and thinking through what I did wrong.

I wanted to make a Goat's Milk OMH batch for an event that is in a few weeks, so I knew I couldn't make it CP. So I decided to CPOP.

My goats milk was mostly slush, with a core of frozen milk. I added the lye slowly and mixed, until the frozen core melted. Added to my oils (80/20 OO and CO) and it traced nicely.

I put it in a box (I just use boxes for big molds) and some leftover batter went into a silicone bar mold - cooked it at 170 for an hour, turned off the oven and left it overnight. In the mold before cooking it looked fine, no different than other batches.

In the morning the top was an oily mess, both the big batch in the box and the little bars in the silicone mold. I turned them over and the bottom had a bright slick of orange, with bumps. So I assume the lye and oil just didn't combine, and the orange was lye, darkened by the color of the milk (not sure though).

I know I measured right. I combined OMH scents - half from a Brambleberry bottle and half from WSP because I ran out - I have done that before though.

So I think the mistake I made had to be with temperature - when I measured the temp of the milk/lye solution, the solution must have not been evenly distributed - must have still had hot/cold spots. My oil was 100 degrees and I know my solution could not have been hotter than that so I must have measured the temp in a warm spot, but the overall temp must have been colder.

So here are my two questions -