Need some advice from someone more experienced than me!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Abeltran

Reaction score
Hi all!
I'm new to this forum so please forgive me if I don't know what I'm doing quite yet! I've been lurking on this site for quite some time now for general answers to questions, so today I figured I'd sign up and join in the convo!

I've been making cold process soaps for a few months now and have quickly become a soap-making addict! However, I'm having some problems I'm hoping others can help me with...

I live in hot, humid Florida, and it seems that pretty much every batch of CP soap I make lately "sweats". The sweating is more prevalent in recipes where I use chilled tea in place of distilled water. I'm not sure why the soaps made with tea sweat more, but they do. What I mean by "sweating" is that either still in the mold, or just unmolded, the soaps will get beads of amber-colored liquid all over them; some bars more than others, even though they're from the same batch! I figured this was due to the humid climate where I live, and have learned to remedy the problem. When the soaps sweat/bead-up, I take a paper towel and try to absorb up as much as I can. Then I'll place the soaps on a curing rack and put a fan on them to help dry them up more. This has worked well for me, as whatever excess moisture I didn't absorb with the paper towel gets reabsorbed back into the soap quickly, and then I just continue to cure as normal.

But here's where my problem is... My soaps have fully cured now, but the soaps that got the worst sweating in the beginning have cured with a dry, hard, crusty-looking top! The bottoms and sides look fine (and they're cured on a rack where air reaches all sides), it's just the tops that have formed a dry, hard crust, where the soap isn't as vibrant in its natural color as the sides and bottoms are.