Need help with my palm oil-free, vegan cold processed soap recipe

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jyoti Maloo

Reaction score
Hi Experienced Soapers,

I am new to soap-making and this is my second batch of soap. My first batch of soap was 95% OO and 5% CO. After a 4 week cure, the soap turned out to be reasonably hard, conditioning and lathery, but I did not like the slime and the gel that accumulates on the soap. It also seems to dissolve quickly and I am sure it will not last long. With my second attempt, I am aiming at a harder, long-lasting, non-drying bar without using palm oil and animal fat. After lots of reading and research, I've come up with a recipe using SoapCalc. I need your help with validating my recipe, if the % of hard and soft oils chosen is right for the kind of soap I am targeting. Here's a snapshot of my recipe from SoapCalc. Thanks in advance.

1616053036856.png

Last edited:
There are several threads on making vegan soap without palm. Some members like adding soy wax. Your recipe is fairly high in oleic acid, which means it probably won't be a long-lasting bar.

Thanks lsg. I checked out other threads and most of them use soy wax. I am not really keen on using soy wax. Also, thanks for pointing out that my oleic number was high. What I did was reduced the OO to 25% and replaced sweet almond oil with a lighter sunflower oil. I had to up my shea butter by 10% to make it harder. Here's the new recipe. Your thoughts?
1616152179838.png

This soap won't last long either, but it will probably last longer than the high Oleic soap you made already.