Need Advice, New to Candle Making

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

skayc1

Reaction score
So I'm relatively new to candle making, in November I ordered a sample of wax to make candles for my mom mostly, she uses them in her bathroom. I got soy wax from Aztec, did the double broiler thing to melt the wax, made several different scents in the candles, worked great, learned I had to cure them. So this time I wanted to have 2 different colors, only I used up the wax from Aztec, & ordered it from BB with other soaping supplies so I would save on shipping cost. I got lazy this time & microwaved the soy wax, I wanted to have two different colors of the same FO. I did mix the FO to create a blend (Berrylicious from Aztec & Blueberry from Naturesgarden) I let the melted wax cool to 145. I addeed the FO & poured it in the Candle Jars only maybe since it was in a glass Jar to begin with I might have poured it quicker just a bit. It was very cold outside & sleeting (in the 20's) My candles as they cooled got bubbles, lots of bubbles, each time I melt them with my heat gun more bubbles come..So I think I should have stuck the jars the wax was in into a pot on the stove with water. I should have poured slower...did the wax itself help cause the bubbles & the moisture in the air from the sleet as well as the temperature outside?
DD589619-B46D-4FAF-AB44-B02225AD60E9.jpg

4F37EC5A-3FF9-4C66-8D39-F538F4F101FD.jpg

9402A238-09A3-47B5-B887-DC1FEBFD5DA7.jpg

Last edited:
What kind of soy wax did you order from each supplier? It looks to me like you have two different kinds of wax.

EcoSoya CB - Advanced Soy Container Wax - 5lb Sample from Aztec -Melt Point 111
CB Advanced soy has extreme resistant to frosting and wet spots. It contracts slightly to produce a uniform beautiful appearance, requires only one pour has a good scent throw and a creamy white appearance.