Natural Scents

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sirona71

Reaction score
Other than Essential Oils, are there any other 'natural' scents you can use for your soaps? I'm one of them tree hugging, ghetto herb garden (only ghetto because it's on my porch lol), organic, au naturale type of gal.

I'm brand new to soap making, but I've made and sold other things (like bath oils, salts, etc) I have a bunch of essential oils, but it really pains me to think of dumping my drop-at-a-time, expensive essential oil into a pot of lye, LOL. Especially not knowing the outcome of both the fragrance or the properties of the EO.

Fragrance oils to me is out of the question.

Is there any other way to scent soap? Or is the EO and FO the only way to go?

Thanks
Kim

Yer a girl after my own heart.

It's pretty hard, in my limited experience, to make soap smell with either potency or longevity with "natural scents." I can get soap to have a scent, but it doesn't last very long, and it's pretty mild to begin with.

Things I have tried that have had reasonable scent:
- infusing olive oil with herbs (mainly lavender and rosemary)
- infusing olive oil with cedar "leaves"
- soaping with cucumber as the liquid
- soaping with pureed red pepper as the liquid
- adding cocoa powder and baker's chocolate
- using pureed carrot and buttermilk as the liquid (smells somewhat nutty)
- warming/very lightly sauteeing ginger in olive oil, and using ginger "tea" as the liquid (very, very mild scent, hardly noticeable as ginger, but different from unscented soap)

Apparently, soaping with beer also gives a nutty smell, but when I soaped with beer I also used cinnamon leaf EO, so I can't really comment on the beer scent. I soaped with wine as the liquid and used lavender EO; the resultant soap smelled like, maybe, grape. Something not-quite-lavender, anyway, and not wine either.