My very first Hot Process soap! 🤗

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

soapgeek

Reaction score
I'm still new to soapmaking, but just made hot process soap for the first time today *happy dance*

I made it in a pan on the stove top with a whisk and a spatula (I don't have a slow cooker or a stick blender yet!); I was a bit worried it wouldn't work, but I think it has... It went kind of like mashed potato in the pan, and then a bit waxy like Vaseline. It wasn't as easy to mould as cold process, where you can easily pour the soap batter into the mould, so I scooped it in with a spoon instead.

I swirled the top with a cocktail stick, with the idea that the slices would have peaks/texture on the top - the peaks are a bit crumbly, but hey, hot process is supposed to be 'rustic', isn't it 😉.

I made this at noon today, and I've been able to wash my hands with it already! It could probably do with a couple of weeks to cure and get harder, but it's usable right now 🙂

Scented with essential oils of:
Sweet orange
Patchouli
Ylang ylang

Attachments

• 20200529_150627.jpg
    20200529_150627.jpg
    159 KB · Views: 23
  • IMG-20200529-WA0001.jpg
    IMG-20200529-WA0001.jpg
    130.6 KB · Views: 22
  • IMG-20200529-WA0002.jpg
    IMG-20200529-WA0002.jpg
    106 KB · Views: 16
  • 20200529_141122.jpg
    20200529_141122.jpg
    131.5 KB · Views: 16
Congratulations!!! HP needs just as long of a cure as CP and sometimes longer due to more water/liquid needed to do HP. With HP saponification is a big quicker but CP is good to use in a 1-3 days depending on if gel is achieved.

Congratulations!!! HP needs just as long of a cure as CP and sometimes longer due to more water/liquid needed to do HP. With HP saponification is a big quicker but CP is good to use in a 1-3 days depending on if gel is achieved.