My soap’s are turning out gritty.

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tblonde1

Blondie's Bubbles
Reaction score
hi There! I’m pretty new to soap making but have a good year and many good batches, until lately. I am wondering if anyone has come across this problem.-My soap appears to cure nicely, cut and cured! Yay, ready to use... but then to discover the bar feels gritty- like it has grains of sand in it. What the heck? It is happening with different recipes too. I tend to soap at lower temps 80 to 90 f. I never had this happen before. :-(

What basic ingredients are you using? Are they all the same with different proportions or everything different? How big are your batches?

It sounds to me like you’re soaping too cool and some of the fatty acids are solidifying before others. I’d say try soaping a bit hotter, around 100F to make sure your oils are completely liquid.

I agree with BattleGnome, we need to know the basic ingredients that you are using in each batch. Are you including titanium dioxide or any ingredient that is not completely dissolved before being added to the soap?

The recipes are 2.5lb batches- include the following:1. Olive,Palm,Shea,Coconut,castor, 1tspclay(for color) & 1TBS Kaolin clay,sodium lactate& FO (2.2:1 ratio)
2.Palm,coconut,olive,almond, shea,meadowfoam,clay &kaolin clay,mica&FO