My soap becoming lump. Like cold butter help

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

anidna.arim

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

Im new to cp but been months doing m&p. I following soap queen tv rexipe of bastile baby soap for beginning and already try 3 times. The 1st one is lumpy and when hardened is crumbly. I look it up on brumblebary pages it because the fragrance oil that i blend when i should just stir it. And probably also because i didnt wait my lye till room temp (i sit it in for 30min only) 2nd time it went okay but i mistakenly put the weight wrong on soapcalc so i only make it 23g (so little i know) but it didnt lumpy.

The 3rd one i make. I already wait my lye 3hrs, didnt blend my essential oil, but i put my oil into one pot when weighing in so i got a lil bit much coconut oil then the recipe told (abt 15gr too much) but i decreased the castor oil and sweet almond oil and i forgot the palm oil (silly me. Yes i know) question is. Eventhough i miss palm oil and already change my essential oil why its still lumpy??? Please help.

My recipe is 40% olive oil, 30% coconut oil, 5% castor 5% sweet almond oil , 20% palm oil . Lye conc 35% super fat 5%

How are you making your soap? Can you provide a picture of what you mean by the soap being "lumpy"?

Do you use a stick blender? If you do, how many seconds or minutes do you use the stick blender when making a batch of soap?

Ive already trued 5 times to upload but it said my file too big.. I blend it until trance coz i make small batch like 150 gr it less than 10 min blendes and it already trace.. And then i add my eo which is lavemder and try to mix it with frangipani.. And not long after that it thicker and thicker.. Is this seizing because of the eo or because o forgot add palm oil?