My scents won't last :( Help

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

petunia

Reaction score
I'm new to soaping and I've made five 5 lb loafs now, each with different e.o. blends (floral, citrus, etc.). I've read tons of books on blending and I've used top, middle and base notes for each blend. I've even tried one blend from Susan Miller Cavitch's "The Soapmakers Companion." They each have a pleasant smell, but the scents are barely noticeable. And they definitely don't last on the skin after washing.

Can anyone help? I don't want to use f.o.'s, but I want soap that smells like Sabon's or Fresh's or Lush's. I just want soap that smells good.

Why is this so hard......

Both companies use a melt and pour base (although sabon has a small range of olive oil soap, I can't find an inci online) and fragrance oils instead of essential oils.
So; if you want that same scent; you'd have to use fragrance oils and if you don't want to use fragrance oils, you won't get that same scent ;)
Nothing hard about it :p

You shouldn't smell anything on your skin after rinsing; soap is after all a wash off product.
You could try to make scented whipped shea butter and use that after taking a shower... :)

Because essential oils are volatile it is very difficult to get them to stick for any length of time. If you are looking for fragrance you are far better off with FO's. The amount of EO you would need to put in your soap to get any lasting fragrance would make the soap very, very expensive.

Thanks everyone. I had to really think about why I started making soap to begin with. It wasn't to make soap that smells like anyone else's. I got into this because I cared about what I was putting on my body. I got into scenting because I care about the way e.o.'s can affect our body and our mood. So, I guess I just freaked a little but I'm back now. ;)