My recipe traces to fast!! Help with swirling!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Eblaja

Reaction score
Hi everybody, I hope you can help me out!

I am relatively new to CP soap making. From the time of my first batch I have fell in love with soap making. The further I go the more I like it and enjoy it.:grin:

I have a particular recipe (below) that I like, however it traces very fast and will not allow much time for swirling or playing with the butter.

It was ok while I was making one color or 2 color soap, but I would like to add some more color and do some swirling.

How can I tweak my recipe without compromising in quality and hardness at the end. I unmold after 24 hours and cut sever hours after.

The other problem that I have is oils. In UAE, where I live, not many types of oils are available and importing is a real killer, (I am already importing the shea and coco at a cheaper rate).

Below is the oils that are available to me: Shea, Cocoa, coconut, olive, almond, sunflower, canola, Castor.

The receipt that I use now is:
Castor – 5.29 oz or 150 g
Cocoa - 6.88 oz or 195 g
Coconut 76 – 16.23oz or 460 g
Olive oil – 19.75oz or 560 g
Shea – 5.43 oz or 154 g
Water at 38% and I superfat @ 5 %

It would be nice if I can have some time (not much) just enough to add the beauty of my colors to the soap.
Please, please, please!!

While this may be overkill, it would improve the overall quality of your finished product. I say overkill, because it could potentially take HOURS for your soap to trace, and you'd need to leave it for a good 48 hours before cutting... It could also change the natural color of your soap.

Switch to extra virgin olive oil. I've used it in all my batches so far, and it really slows things down. Perhaps just virgin (instead of extra virgin) would not be as extreme?

Last edited: