My job makes life difficult...

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

carebear

Reaction score
About 50% of my job is that I'm a professional taster. Coffee, tomato sauces, juices, and others.

Eating out is a nightmare.

Soon to add beer and soft drinks to the list.

(Fragrance evaluations too, but those are not as difficult to ignore outside the office).

What a neat job. Do you just get sick of tasting stuff though? Isn't it hard to try something you might not be in the mood to taste just then? Do you do direct comparisons, like one brand of apple juice compared to another brand? Is eating out hard because you're super critical of everything? I have questions!!

Oh my goodness carebear I didn't realise there was such a thing. I feel so bad now, DH keeps telling me I should become someone that taste tests/critiques food because i'm so particular on food tastes especially when we eat out, I thought he was just being a smarty pants lol.

Oh the hell with all that! What we really want to know is who has the Best coffee! It's DD - right?

Actually I don't typically "judge" products, per se. I describe them in great detail. So I might rate a coffee on the presence/absence and then intensity of notes like "cereal", "burnt", "roasted", "acid", "rubber", and many others - none of which are necessarily positives nor negatives - they all work together to give the pleasant or unpleasant impression.

Sometimes we are looking for particular off notes, especially when helping a company determine its products shelf-life. Then we get to judge when things have gone too far.

Sometimes direct comparisons, but since we're trained to use a scale I most often either just rate the attributes or at least know my reference sample well enough not to have to taste it each time.