My first recipe.

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Keds45

Reaction score
It's great to find this forum and I just joined today. I am really new at soap making, but I love experimentation. I'm hoping for advice and critiquing from experienced soapers. Last week I made a batch of soap after reading up on the oils I had in my pantry (I didn't want to buy or order anything). I decided on 70% olive oil, 15% coconut oil and 15% grapeseed oil. I'm amazed that it seems to have actually turned into some kind of soap. Yesterday I attempted the same recipe with the addition of sodium lactate and colors I got from nurture soaps. what is a good way to proceed? I was hoping to create soap with easily available oils, nothing too exotic. The grapeseed oil is very green, but its what was on hand.

Attachments

• IMG_0581.jpg
    IMG_0581.jpg
    45.4 KB · Views: 29
  • IMG_0582.jpg
    IMG_0582.jpg
    51.4 KB · Views: 32
Hello and welcome! Congratulations on your first soaps. Many here use things they can get locally. If you’re not opposed to lard, that plus coconut, olive and castor make great soap. Grape seed has a short shelf life so if you do choose to use it keep it at a low percentage. It could make your soap more prone to DOS.

If you read through the last 10 or so pages in the beginners section you will find a lot of helpful information. Also be sure to read the stickies.

Hello and welcome! Congratulations on your first soaps. Many here use things they can get locally. If you’re not opposed to lard, that plus coconut, olive and castor make great soap. Grape seed has a short shelf life so if you do choose to use it keep it at a low percentage. It could make your soap more prone to DOS.

If you read through the last 10 or so pages in the beginners section you will find a lot of helpful information. Also be sure to read the stickies.