My first batch turned out a little funny...

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pjones

Reaction score
OK, So I found a recipe online for a honey oatmeal bar that sounded nice so I decided to try making it. This is my first time making soap so I was sure to follow the recipe and directions to a tee. Aside from the weigh scale having a minor melt down half way through I thought everything went quite well.
I reduced the batch down to a 1.5 Lbs portion so that if it turned out to be a dud then it wasn't much of a loss.
I mixed the soap until it hit trace and I poured it into the mould. Immediately I placed the concoction into the freezer to keep it cool as it set. It stayed there for about 20 hours. Out from the freezer it came and I waited 2 more days before cutting the bar. The first cut and I noticed oil coming out of the bar as I cut... Maybe I didn't let it sit long enough. I let it sit for another 4 days and pulled it apart again to find there to be no difference to the liquidity of the inside.
So it has been a total of 7 days that its been sitting now and I'm a little confused as to what would make the soap turn out like this.

The recipe had the following quantities in it:

Olive Oil = 12.0 Ounces (50% of total oils)
Coconut Oil (76 Degree) = 4.8 Ounces (20% of total oils)
Sweet Almond Oil = 2.9 Ounces (12% of total oils)
Avocado Oil = 2.4 Ounces (10% of total oils)
Castor Oil = 1.9 ounces (8% of total oils)
Orange, sweet essential oil = 20.4 grams
Clove Bud essential oil = 13.6 grams
Honey = 1.5 ounces
Almond Milk = 2.72 ounces
Whole Oats = 0.9 ounces
Distilled Water = 5.4 ounces
lye = 3.3 ounces (93.2 grams)

Any insight or even educated guesses are appreciated. I'm guessing I'm going to need to rematch this loaf and give it a second shot but I'm not sure if adding more Lye is the proper solution to this or how much to add if it is.