My CP recipes - advice please!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Paddyfrances

Reaction score
Hello,
I'm new to CP soap making and am utterly addicted and utterly confused!
I've been using two recipes and would really appreciate your advice about them as I am now doubting everything I'm doing!

I use Soapcalc for the water and lye amounts, in fact I follow Soapcalc to the letter!

The first one is 5 oils:

Sunflower Oil - 20%
Coconut Oil - 30%
Olive Oil - 30%
Shea Butter - 15%
Castor Oil - 5%

The Soapcalc numbers are:

Hardness - 38
Cleansing - 20
Conditioning - 58
Bubbly - 25
Creamy - 22
Iodine - 68
INS - 143

I have used this one a lot but found that it takes ages to harden enough to take out of the mould - 2 to 3 days at least.
Once out the soap is still soft for a good week to two weeks afterwards.
So I then started using Sodium Lactate at 2% of the total oils weight.
Its helped a bit but not that much.

I then tried the second recipe as I had read that sunflower oil is slow to saponify and produces a soft bar.

Coconut Oil - 35%
Castor Oil - 5%
Shea Butter - 25%
Olive Oil - 35%

The Soapcalc numbers are:

Hardness - 45
Cleansing - 23
Conditioning - 51
Bubbly - 28
Creamy - 26
Iodine - 52
INS - 161

Both recipes seem to work as soap but I'm really struggling to know what's best.
I want to be able to sell my soap (as there's only so much soap a family of 4 can use!) but need a safety assessment of my basic recipe as the first step in the process.
But I can't even decide on a basic recipe!
I really would appreciate any advice you can give me.

Many thanks,
Paddyfrances

I take it that you are EU based then?