MP Soap Stickiness

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KathyB

Reaction score
Hi, all. I have a few questions about MP soap. I am new to MP soapmaking and I have been getting soap bases from Wisteria Lane and Brambleberry. The ingredients for both soaps are exactly the same - they are SFIC, I believe. Anyway, the after feel when using these soaps is quite sticky. I am not having a problem with sweating. Even picking up the soap base before melting leaves a sticky residue on the hands. I have done some research on the internet to find out what I can add to the MP base to make it less sticky, without much luck. I have read that glycerin is naturally sticky, so that may may be the end of it. But if there is some additive that would work, I would like to know. I have added different kinds of oils and butters, but don't notice a difference in after feel.

Also, I read that the consistency of the soap depends on the quality of the soap base. I am assuming that SFIC is a good quality soap - it appears to be all natural. Ingredient lists for other soaps list additional synthetic products - is this a bad thing or would these soaps not be so sticky? I appreciate any input. :D

SFIC makes a dozen different bases. Maybe 1 is a low sweat & 1 is a regular?

The base does pull mositure out of the air so you will need to always keep the base & finished soaps in air tight containers.

Are you working in the same enviornemnt? Has the humidity level in your area changed?