Mp soap standard

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Felgie

Reaction score
Hi, i am new to soap making and am thinking of starting with mp soap.
However, i would like to know what is the recomendation of the fragrances and coloring amount for mp soap? Is there any specific rules (temperature, etc) that i need to pay attention to?

I never really measure I just put color in until I'm happy with it the same with scent. Sorry, I can be of more help.

Hi, i am new to soap making and am thinking of starting with mp soap.
However, i would like to know what is the recomendation of the fragrances and coloring amount for mp soap? Is there any specific rules (temperature, etc) that i need to pay attention to?

Colorant I use just a bit in MP until I get the color I want. As for Fragrance you need to know the usage rate that's recommended by the supplier. It will vary from fragrance to fragrance. Once you know the max usage rate you can go by what smells good to you. I don't use much MP but I generally start with 2% and go from there. Some need more some less.

The manufacturer of you m&p can give you the max percentage of fragrance you base will hold. A little hint with mica if you use it, is to mix it with alcohol then add it in until you get the color you want. The alcohol will evaporate out of any leftover mica so you can just leave it in the container you use, adding more alcohol next time you want the color. My daughter always used 1 oz deli cups for mixing her micas.