Months after curing soap turns yellow orange and smells bad

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

foresthome

Reaction score
I am not new to soaping. I have been making soap for over 9 years. I have a nice small successful soap business. In the last 7 months I have had 2 batches of soap that were around 6 months old change color to a yellow orange and smell awful. This has never happened before. One soap was scented with fragrance oil and oxide colorants, and the other was my unscented uncolored soap. My base recipe is Castor oil 9.68%, Coconut oil 32%, Olive oil 19.35%, Pomace Olive oil 19.35%, Rice Bran oil 19.35%. Any ideas. All my oils have been purchased in the last year, and none of them smell bad.

It is the whole bar. It happened after curing 6 months in both cases. OO pomace and rice bran oils are a new addition as they were less expensive that pure OO. Started using them in the last 2 years. I get my oils from Soaper's Choice at Columbia Foods.

That definitely sounds like rancidity. It doesn't always show up as spots, in can form on the whole bar.

You might try switching back to your regular OO and see if that helps.

Its absolutely rancidity. I’ve had soap recently go rancid made with rice bran at about 6 months. I’ve never had it with regular OO or even a mix of OO and avocado.

All my oils have been purchased in the last year, and none of them smell bad.

As a side note, the clock on the “shelf life’ of an oil or butter is not the day you bought, but the day is was produced. You don’t know how long your oil or butter was sitting on the shelf or warehouse or the bottler or in the hold of a ship before your purchased it. I just assume that whatever I buy is only good for half the shelf life, not that I would know where I would store a year’s worth of Olive Oil. LOL