Molten Rapeseed Wax?!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bradley

Reaction score
Hi there, I’m relatively new to making candles and have been experimenting with different natural waxes such as beeswax, soy and my newest wax, rapeseed. Although not having any difficulties with either beeswax or soy, rapeseed is a completely different matter . My previous attempts at pure rapeseed candles have all seemed to come alive and erupt up from the sides of the glass container like molten lava. I thought maybe it cooled too quickly so next time I slowed the cooling process but it seemed to happen again if not quite as bad as the first time but still not good enough haha so I was wondering if anyone knows exactly what is happening/ what I’m doing wrong and could help me figure this out because I can’t seem to find anything else about this online and everybody else’s rapeseed candles look perfect haha
17vb5f.jpg

Ive made with rapeseed before but have seen anything like that!

All the silly questions - where is the rapeseed from, is it a reputable seller? What wick did you use and did it have a fragrance? What was the pour temperature?

Ive made with rapeseed before but have seen anything like that!

All the silly questions - where is the rapeseed from, is it a reputable seller? What wick did you use and did it have a fragrance? What was the pour temperature?
I got the Rapeseed wax from Livemoor.co.uk and it’s advertised as pure rapeseed wax so I hope they’re reputable haha and I used a wooden wick with essential oils. The first one I poured around 40c but had started to solidify already so next time I did it around 50-60c and the same thing happened haha

Livemoor are ok, not sure about wooden wicks as I usually find they burn too hot.