Molds and oil supplier's

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

foxpupmeow

Reaction score
Hey all I'm new to soap making so looking for the best oil supplier, I get olive oil from Costco as 42$ for 202 Oz is not to shabby. Also I use the 37 Oz purple bar molds I would love to upgrade to the 5lb 15 bar molds more for the cost of labor and cure time compared to the 10 bar molds, but their pver 60$! Let me know thanks!

When I shop online I always comparison shop. Bulk Apothecary has good prices and quality oils and butters. I also get tons of stuff from Bramble Berry. I buy avocado oil and coconut oil from Aldi grocery, a discount store. I get palm butter from another local grocery store.
Do you use single cavity molds? If so, I'd recommend a loaf mold.
My big splurges was on a stick blender and cutter. All other utensils and equipment come from dollar and thrift stores. Good luck!

I like using Soapers Choice for my oils. You can get castor oil in 7 lb bottles and Coconut oil Organic or not at a good price. They also have numerous other oils too. Yes, you do have to pay shipping, but I found it still cheaper than Costco. They also ship quickly (out of the Chicago area).

I agree with Zing, a good Stick blender that I get at Costco when on sale and a soap cutter that I found on eBay. I would add a scale to measure ingredients, I find it more accurate than Tsp & Cups, with less failing for myself.

Have bought a lot of the other supplies at the dollar store, or Big Lots… Plastic pitcher for the lye water (Label with a sharpie for Lye Only), plastic and metal bowls, spatulas...