Modified Tapioca Starch

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ittlelisa

Reaction score
Hi,
I’m new to making body and bath supplies and located in Australia. We have no Natrasorb bath tapioca starch available in our country at the moment . Can i use any ‘modified tapioca‘ starch other than natrasorb and if it is much the same.
thanks for your help.

I'll let you know when I got home from work. I just got 4mular Ultratex 3 Tapioca Starch from Amazon to compare with Natrasorb. I don't think they're interchangeable though. Natrasorb dissolves in water and the other gels up.

Ok I did a quick comparison. Ultra-Tex 3 (UT-3) is a modified tapioca starch, it's on the left in the pic. UT-3 is whiter in appearance, Natrasorb is cream color. When I rubbed a little between my fingers, UT-3 felt a little grainier, Natrasorb was very smooth.

They both absorb FO the same, although UT-3 still remained kind of fluffy whereas Natrasorb becomes denser.

The main difference was when I added water, UT-3 turned into a gelatinous blob and Natrasorb dissolved pretty quickly.

After FO but before water:
IMG_20220422_190400.jpg

After water:
UT-3
IMG_20220422_190554.jpg

Natrasorb
IMG_20220422_190656.jpg

Yes definitely a difference between modifield tapioca starch. thank you for sharing
Ok I did a quick comparison. Ultra-Tex 3 (UT-3) is a modified tapioca starch, it's on the left in the pic. UT-3 is whiter in appearance, Natrasorb is cream color. When I rubbed a little between my fingers, UT-3 felt a little grainier, Natrasorb was very smooth.

They both absorb FO the same, although UT-3 still remained kind of fluffy whereas Natrasorb becomes denser.

The main difference was when I added water, UT-3 turned into a gelatinous blob and Natrasorb dissolved pretty quickly.

After FO but before water:
View attachment 66072

After water:
UT-3
View attachment 66073

Natrasorb