Mixing natural colors/gelling goat milk and purple?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tee

Reaction score
Hi...newbie here. I have a two-fold (or 10 fold LOL)question. I want to attempt to make a white goats milk soap (main portion) with purple swirls (small portion). I have infused olive oil with alkanet root. I understand that when using color infused oils, I will substitute that for plain oil. However, I dont want the entire batch to be purple, so my first question is do I make 2 batches, one using the alkanet infused Olive oil and then a 2nd batch of white? Or can I divide the one big batch (75/25) and add a small amount of the color infused oil to a portion of the batch? If so at what rate (how much oil)? will this be superfating? If this is the case, should I not superfat the master batch? Should I increase the amount of alkanet root in the olive oil for a deeper color before adding?
I would prefer to only make one batch and divide the battter, and dye half of the batch purple.

After this is decided..do i get or not? I typically do not gel my goats milk soap to achieve white (i make this at room temp), however, this is going to also have the alkanet root oil, which I would think needs to be gelled. Any experience NOT gelling soap with alkanet root infused oil? What is the outcome of the purple when not gelled.

My head is spinning from all of the factors but at the same time Im addicted like a junkie! LOL thanks for any advice and help!!

I haven’t used alkanet, but based on other plant infusions I’ve used and all the photos I’ve seen of alkanet gone bad, I recommend that you make two batches. Depending on how strong your infusion is, you may need to use 10 or 15% of the infusion as a percentage of the total oils. That’s too much to add as a superfat, if you’re aiming for 5% SF. Alkanet can turn out grey if you don’t use enough.