Mixing lye indoors or outdoors?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RKrynicki

Reaction score
I am new to CP soaps and I have a small kitchen (not much counter space to work with). We have a room in our basement that I plan on setting up as my soap room, but I'm not sure if it's a good idea to mix the lye in the room or to go outside and do it. I have 2 kids and 4 ferrets, but they don't go anywhere near my soap making stuff. I have all the needed protective gear for mixing, but would it be safer to mix the lye outdoors then bring it downstairs to my soap room to add in the oils?

I mix my lye in the kitchen sink but there are no kids here. if your kids stay upstairs and you wear a mask I would much rather not carry a container of lye around the house

I don't mix my lye solution outdoors, but it's certainly an option that some people prefer. You will want to consider the consequences of what might happen if you happen to drop the lye container while moving it indoors. If you mix the lye for each batch, it's a real temptation to use an open container, but an accidental stumble or elbow bump while carrying an open pitcher of lye can have serious consequences. If I were to mix lye solution outdoors, I'd want to look into some kind of container that can be securely closed while I was moving it around.