Mild soap, what does it mean?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Alfa_Lazcares

Reaction score
Okay so since I’m very new to this I am still trying to get a grasp on the basic concepts of soaps and soap making in general. And this is something i still dont quite get.

I get that a lot of people think of a mild soap as a soap that has a low or neutral ph. But i also get that a soap can not be a soap if its got a neutral ph cause chemistry. So i understand that lowering the lye wont make a mild soap. I also get that adding well, additives wont make a soap mild by lowering the ph because again, chemistry. In so many words thats the right concept, right? A soap can not have a neutral ph because that is not soap.

So for making a mild soap we have to think of other things instead of the ph. And here i am talking about soap and not detergents.

So what or how can i formulate a mild soap and what exactly are we refering to when we say, for example that castille soap is mild?

Is it the clensing? I know coconut is quite cleansing and so making a soap with a high % of coconut will not be mild. Is that right?

I have this idea, by reading recipes and coments that oils like olive or avocado make a mild soap, but why is that?

In other words what exactly is what i should be looking for (or at) to determine if a soap will be mild?

Does it also has to do with its conditioning properties? For example on the original shampoo bar recipe up there, people were calling it a very mild soap, and it is full of oils that are not hard, so is that it? Soft oils make a mild soap?

Just to be clear. i am not trying to look in to how to lower the ph of the soap to make it mild because i understand that is not possible. But i dont get what makes a soap mild or what are people talking about when they call a soap recipe mild.