Mica Storage

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fountains324

Reaction score
I am new to using mica’s instead of the store bought colorants and my question is once you make it what’s the best storage method? Also I have been using 1/2 tsp mica to one tbsp of alcohol. Is this ok? And one last question, how much colorant can you use especially when doing small or large batches? Thanks is advance for any help.

I don’t mix my micas with alcohol as in MP it can cause it to set up. I just mix my micas right into the MP until it’s the desired color. I should state I don’t do a lot of MP. Mostly for embeds.
Are you asking he to store the micas or soap with micas. My needs to be wrapped once made. I keep my embeds in a tightly sealed container.

I mix my micas with glycerine (20g glycerine to 5g mica) to use in MP. I use alcohol only if I'm painting on embeds.

I store my premixed colors in a 2oz travel bottle (the type with the flip disc cap) and a marble to help with mixing as the mica will settle out.

I am also thinking of premixing my mica's (1tsp of colorant to 1 tbsp of oil?? Right? Lol) because, while I enjoy soaping, prepping colors is right up there with the washing up afterwards. My plan is to use a small squeeze bottle 2oz or so, mixed with a light oil & with a drop of vitamin e oil for extra insurance...and stainless steel ball bearing...has anyone tried it this way and found it easier? Any forseable cons to doing it this way? Man I hate mixing color lol. TIA

Vitamin E oil doesn’t work as well to prevent rancidity as Rosemary Oleoresin (ROE). ROE is expensive but you only use very small amounts, and typically add them to the entire jug of oil. That way, you don’t need to add it later to any oils used for the batch or for colors.

You can use the search feature to locate threads on ROE usage rates.