Making transparent soap for suspending objects, questions...

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I have a very specific purpose in mind. I am an art student and for a future project I thought of suspending different kinds of paint and various small objects in a clear substance for a series of pieces.

At first I thought my only option for the clear substance would be clear polyester casting resin but then my professor told me about his kids making crystal clear soap bars with a kit which they suspended a small photograph in, so I looked into soap making as a solution.

For size I was thinking in the range of 8" long, 8"wide, 15" tall using a plaster mold. The idea is I'd follow the recipe exactly except when it's ready to be poured I'd pour into a plaster mold I'll make, and drop foreign objects or insert paint with a pipette while it's in there. I think my primary requirement is that I need the mixture to be thick/viscous at this pouring stage so that what I insert will not move around much. I'd like to find a recipe or kit that produces a mixture that is thick enough at this "pour" stage of the recipe. I was hoping those of you with experience could tell me if you've ever made soap that happened to be thick at this stage, and if so what was the recipe? Because I'm a beginner I'd like to start with a kit that will likely meet my requirements before foraying into a DIY recipe. I found some soap bases from this site: http://www.goplanetearth.com/bases_melt_pour_soap.html

These are some of the clear soap bases from the above list, they are each glycerin-based. At the top of the above page is the company's instructions for mixing which probably applies to all of their MP bases, I'd link to it but for some reason it won't open in my browser.

Ultimate Clear Melt & Pour Soap Base
"An ideal base when embedding toys or printed material."